Back on my Feet and Lovin’ it!

After 3 months of tears, irrational break downs and the harsh realization that my marathon aspirations would have to be post-poned from the Paris Marathon — I’m finally back 🙂

I say I’m back with caution as I’ve been injured twice in my less than 2 year running “spree,” but I’m still going to say it because I’m just so excited! Surprisingly the realization that I was finally getting over my injury did not come to me while I was running, it came through the simple act of walking. I was walking home from work last Monday, as I normally do, and all of a sudden I realized that I felt no pain. NONE at all. Walking was never excruciatingly painful with my IT band injury, but it just didn’t feel right/good. Needless to say, I walked home with a smile that day, which is widely unusual for a Monday.

Even after being put out of commission twice from running induced injuries, I still haven’t lost my passion or motivation for running. I’m proud of myself. It would have been a lot easier to just give up on running than trying to get better. Sure, I’ve wavered at times with my love for the sport, but my resilience has always stayed with me. I can thank my parents for that, for teaching me to never just simply accept “no” as an answer. Instead of accepting “NO, I can’t run,” I questioned, “HOW can I get back to running?” I was the answer was easy, but it took me a combination of the following:

  • Complete REST (not easy!)
  • ART
  • Graston
  • Rolling like h*ll
  • Strengthening
  • Stretching
  • Icing
I honestly think the rest has played the biggest part in my recovery thus far. Graston and ART were a lifesaver as well and of course I can’t preach enough the power of strengthening core muscles. When I don’t want to strength train I have to remind myself that running is a privilege that I have to earn. 

It’s hard for me to say one way or another if my shoes helped play a part in my IT band syndrom recovery, but I did start wearing Newton running shoes, on the recommendation of a marathon running friend, a little over a month ago  and my leg has felt better since.

Newton Running shoes are designed to help “force” a midfoot landing, which supposedly is the body’s proper alignment and takes pressure off the quads/hips/IT band. Now that being said, they also put more pressure on your shins and calves, so it is warned on their website to slowly wear in Newton running shoes.  I slightly over-pronate, so I got the “stability” version. I bought the shoes in the middle of my recovery, so it’s hard to say if the shoes are to thank for getting better, but all I can say is I’m still wearing them and have felt a lot better.

Being back on my feet, combined with the somewhat warmer weather, has put in a fabulous mood. I feel strong, confident and capable. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about my career and following my passions lately and I’m getting ready to finally start making some progress. With the start of a new week coming up tomorrow, I’d like to leave you with my motto of the week:

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back on my Feet and Lovin’ it!

  1. Kara says:

    Wow that must be a great feeling! I’m so happy for you! Have you decided about Brooklyn yet?! Oh and love your motto 🙂

    • Thank you!!! Yes I’m going to do the BK half! I just had a little freak out the other weekend because I felt exhausted from an 8 mile run, but then this weekend I ran 10 miles and felt fine, still energy to spare.

  2. kymarie13 says:

    I am soooo happy for you! I can’t wait for Saturday! Beth said she is going to run too! WOO HOO! #goals #makeitcount

  3. runlivelaugh says:

    Brilliant news and a brilliant post! Really pleased you are back on track 🙂

Leave a Reply

