Try Something New

Good question, right?

In 10 days I will be turning 27 years old and although I don’t mind getting older, every time a birthday comes around it gets me to thinking — “what have I done with this year of my life?”

I’ve had a lot of ups and downs in my 26th year of life. To name a few — I’ve moved in with my bf (aka let someone else into my life); I got a raise; my mom had breast cancer and my mom beat breast cancer; I traveled back to my beloved country of Italy and experienced the “southern boot;” I ran 2 more half marathons and PR’d each time; I had a piriformis injury and I healed from the injury; I cracked crabs, drank lots of wine and made new friends.

Yeah, I’ve had an amazing year, but lately, I feel like I’ve forgotten something that’s very important to me:

As I was walking to work one day last week, I saw a woman that reminded me of my Grandmother who passed away about 8 years ago. I don’t know what it was, maybe the 1950’s hair due or the over-caked makeup, but the random memory made me smile. I thought more about my grandmother who was an amazing lady, always positive, always smiling, but she was also strong. She was a believer that you could achieve anything if you wanted it bad enough. She always believe in me no matter what I did — if I was in a play, I was the “star of the show” to her; if I had a swim meet, there was no doubt in her mind that I would win…and if I didn’t win, I was still the best swimmer in the world to her.

Anyways, to the point of my story, as these memories flooded my head I couldn’t help, but think, “what would my grandmother say if she knew I was walking to a job that gives me so much stress and anxiety that I can’t sleep at night? What would she tell me to do if I told her I hate what I do?” Then I started to cry. Yes folks, in the middle of foot traffic along 3rd avenue, I started to tear up. The answer to me seemed obvious, she would tell me to do what makes me happy, do what I love. That being said she was also raised during the depression by immigrant parents who had to work hard to put food on the table, so she may understand “toughing it out.” But she and my grandfather worked hard to pave the way so that the generations after them could follow their dreams.

Next I started thinking, what would my mom tell me to do if she knew I had spent nights crying over my work and of my sleeplessness? The answer, again she’d tell me to do what makes me happy. If that meant quitting my job and taking a chance, she’d say go for it.

I’ve taken a lot of chances in life. I’ve done a lot of smart things and I’ve done a lot of stupid things, but at the end of the day I have no regrets. Lately, I feel like I’ve been playing it on the safe side, straying away from taking chances and used complaining and unhappiness as a crutch. I want to finish out my 26th year of life in a positive place, so with 10 days to go, I need a little push to remind me to “take chances.” So, for the next 10 days I’m going to try something new every day and keep track of it. On April 10th (my Birthday!) I will post for you all what I’ve accomplished.

I urge you to join me in my quest to try new things! So here we go…

Questions: What’s the biggest “risk” you’ve ever taken? Is there something you really want to do? What’s holding you back?? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Try Something New

  1. This is amazing. Sometimes I get so caught up in school work and chores that I forget to do the things that I really enjoy. I have been on a mission for the past year to try new things and it has been so much fun. Happy early birthday, I can’t wait to hear what you do!

  2. Beth (RxBethOnTheRun) says:

    This post made me smile and tear up a little too! I believe in what your mom and Grandma say about doing what makes you happy. Not to sound cliche, but life is short. I have learned that the hard way. I have always played it safe and let fear get the best of me and it has gotten me exactly where I have always been…until this year, and it has been completely exhilarating and freeing! I know look to do things that scare me a little. I can’t wait to hear what you do for the next 10 days and let me know if I can try anything new with you. It is a great way to live life 🙂 I’m so proud of you!!!

  3. loramarie03 says:

    That’s awesome! I think it’s so easy to get caught up into normal life that we forget to take chances, that’s what makes life interesting! Our biggest “risk” was moving up to NYC… and it worked out amazingly! 🙂

  4. leonorenguita says:

    We can get caught up in our comfort zones and not want to venture out. DH has a product that is in the process of getting patented. It’s a scary process, and could end up a dead end. We still had to get outside our comfort zone to pursue it, otherwise…..we’ll always wonder what if???

  5. You will always wonder “What if….” Dh and I are taking a leap in pursuing a dream. If we don’t do it now, we never will. I don’t want to be left with the “What if we…”

  6. runlivelaugh says:

    This is such a great post, really considered and it strikes a chord on so many levels. Thank you for sharing!

    It takes strength and courage to take leaps, and you have both as you have demonstrated over the last few months; I am sure your 27th year will be full of many acheivements, adventures and happy memories and I look forward to reading about the new things you try out in the next few days!

    P.S I had no idea your mum had to deal with Breast Cancer. I am so sorry she and you had to go through that and I am happy to see she beat it. 🙂

  7. Kara says:

    Yay to your Mom for beating breast cancer!!

    I know how you feel about the job thing – I worked in a job I despised for about 2 years and I was so miserable it made me physically sick. It was horrible and I’m so glad I’m gone, life is much, much better…like you said, taking risks is a good thing! You’ll always learn, no matter what. I definitely need to take more risks these days. It was a risk for me to move to NY about 4 years ago but it one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. At the time, I didn’t even think twice about making that decision, I was SO EXCITED to go. But looking back I realize it really was a big risk. I think I was just too young to realize how big a deal it was. If that makes sense. Anyway, I’m so pumped to see the risks you take leading up to your birthday 🙂

  8. Ros Matthews says:

    Hi Katherine… I hope when you come over to the UK we meet as we have a lot in common!!! From mums who beat breast cancer to utter ITB frustration to long suffering desk-jobs in marketing?! I have spent fourteen years in a ‘safe’ marketing consultancy job with good salary – but I have seen a lot of friends come and go and follow their own paths – be it risky – they always seemed so happy to go and I was so envious of their courage to follow their dreams. I have always been very responsible and being mindful of paying mortgages…running cars and afford well-earned treats this has always held me back. I think I was spending what I earnt though because I thought I deserved to from what I ‘put up with’ to earn it… retail therapy is wonderful – but it doesn’t get you a more fulfilling life really. Since running I have realised you don’t need to go ‘shopping’ to have a great life – meet amazing people and have fun! This inspired me to learn more about the ‘hobby’ I had always had on the sidelines (to keep me sane!) I suddenly realised the other week when I was ‘safely’ building up my new sports massage business alongside my marketing job that I was in a much better place than I realsed and I could do this. Its exactly the same as any race you enter or any battle … as Sarah Connor (Terminator) once said ‘There is no fate but what we make’. You sound very conscientious (like me) but my dad who (sadly) did lose the battle to lung cancer did stay in a ‘safe’ job for far too long and always regretted it… so I feel I am almost doing this for him. It is never too late to train in something you enjoy – and take it to the next level. My friend is also building a cupcake empire… Twitter has been such a great tool! You have the expertise to take whatever you do (with your writing skills) to great heights. You can do it girl – I know your Gran would say so! xx

  9. I love this post. I find myself in the same place lately. (Although, I will be 37 in about 20 days.) There has to be something else out there for us. Keep looking and keep taking chances. We should have no regrets in the end. Opportunity is there for us. We just have to be looking for it and ready to risk it all! Good luck in your journey!

Leave a Reply

