Hello 2012!

I’ve never really been big on New Year’s Resolutions, or yearly reflection — “resolving” should be something that’s not only done once a year and I’m not sure I believe much in “reflection” because I think it’s important to look forward. However, this year I feel I need a little bit of both. The past few months of this year have been somewhat mentally and physically tough for me dealing with family health and work issues and it’s tainted my image of the whole year.  Doing some reflecting on the year as a whole, though, it’s actually been quite a good year and I feel like I’ve accomplished a lot! So here’s my year in reflection, focusing on the positive


  • Through running, I’ve learned to push my limits and face my fears
  • I let a wonderful man into my life and move in with my boyfriend in July (from a previous commitment phobe, this is a big one)

  • I lived in 1 city and stayed at 1 job for all of 2011!!!! — this will make my tax return a lot easier :-), but I also think it signifies growing up and commitment
  • I earned a raise at my job
  • I’ve embraced all seasons by running in the rain, cold, wind and extreme heat
  • I took the time to travel (2 weeks in Italy being the big trip) and enjoyed life!

  • I challenged myself (or lost my mind) and registered for the Paris 2012 Marathon and began training
  • …and finally, I finished out the year still standing STRONG!

So yeah, overall it was a pretty good year. 2012 is going to be an even better year and I can tell you this with complete confidence because I’m going to make it happen. After all, we chose our own destiny and although we can not predict or control “bad times,” we can control how we deal with them. I don’t want to call them resolutions, but below are my goals for 2012:

  • Run the Paris 2012 marathon and finish STRONG. Hopefully that means in 4:30:00 time, but if I finish in 5 hours or longer and still feel good afterwards, I’ve accomplished my goal.
  • I’m going to travel, because I love experiencing different cultures
  • Be better at making commitments with friends — after all, I cherish and appreciate my friends, I need to show it more
  • Find satisfaction in my job, or find a job where I can find that satisfaction
  • Enjoy life.

QUESTION: What are your plans for 2012? Do you believe in resolutions and a yearly reflection?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hello 2012!

  1. Candice says:

    Omgsh, a marathon in Paris sounds amazing! What a great experience. I think it’s definitely important to reflect and reassess your yearly goals. And I hope that in 2012 I can gain a passion for running, similarly to what you experienced in 2011! :)

  2. helen says:

    This is such a great post!

    2012 is going to be a great year for you, your sucesses from 2011 will keep continuing and all your goals (and more!) will be achieved!

    Thanks for sharing!!

  3. runningseal says:

    The Paris Marathon sounds awesome! I like goals more than resolutions. I actually kind of think of my running goals with each “running season” so my goals were mostly in place a month or two ago, but 2012 is when they will happen :)

  4. Love this post Katherine! That picture of you with your medal is really good. Also, I’m so honored to be listed as one of your new friends!
    I didn’t really talk about running goals on my blog. But as far as running goes in 2012 I am so excited for your Paris marathon, and continuing to run with you during your training this winter. I need to get out there again because I’m signed up for the Cherry Blossom 10 miler on 4/1. Happy 2012 and hope to see you soon!

  5. Love the positive attitude you have! One of my goals for 2012 is to be more optimistic.

Leave a Reply

