‘Cause it’s the little things that make us smile :-)

The cold weather and the October record snowfall in NY that we experiences yesterday does NOT make me happy, but here are a few things from this past week that DO make me happy…

Pumpkin muffins!

Pumpkin Muffin from Le Pain Quotidien

This past Monday I was pleasant surprised to find that Le Pain Quotidien had a special seasonal Pumpkin Muffin. I love muffin monday and this was a double win!

Healthy and delicious homemade dinner:

Yeah, I actually cooked!

Tuesday I was in the mood for a veggie filled, healthy dinner so I whipped this (picture above) up quickly:

– Eggplant grilled on the George Foreman Grill, layered with tomato sauce (Trader Joe’s brand) and topped with a little bit of fresh mozzarella cheese

– Veggie meatballs from Trader Joes (sadly I only had two left)

– A pie of yummy whole wheat bread that I had left over from lunch (came with the soup I bought)

OK, now I don’t LOVE cheese like a lot of people do, but pasta that comes straight from a cheese wheel makes me smile and my tummy say “yey!”

Cacio e Pepe from Bocca

Wednesday night the BF and I went out for a date night at Bocca in the flatiron. He got cacio e pepe (pictured above). They bring out the cacio e pepe in a big cheese wheel and scoop it out onto your plate. It’s a delicious dish, but EXTREMELY heavy. I had rigatoni with an arugula pesto sauce and shrimp/mussels — it was tasty and “light.” I think Bocca is somewhat overpriced, but they do have good homemade pasta.

Kitty love…enough said…

Watching the sunrise as I get dressed for my morning run…

Now that it’s getting cold out (too soon!) I’m a little nervous about morning runs outside, but even though it’s sometimes hard for me to get out of bed, I do truly love morning runs…and the treadmill is just not the same. That being said, I went out and bought warm running gloves at Lululemon today, as well as wool socks; and I already have really warm running tights and shirts/pull overs — Now I feel prepared to tackle the cold this week!

In case you were wondering, recap from the past week:

Monday: 7 mile run along the East River

Tuesday: Rest

Wednesday: 10 mile run in Central Park with Katie

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 4 mile run along the East River with Ashley

Saturday: easy 30 minutes on the bike

Sunday: lots of walking and 15mins on the bike

Last week I wanted to cut back on my mileage a bit, since I had a big week the week before with my 15miler. Still contemplating my goals for this week, but more cross training in general is a goal I have for the next 5 1/2 months until the marathon.

QUESTIONS: What things made you happy this week? How do you deal with keeping up your training in the cold weather?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ‘Cause it’s the little things that make us smile :-)

  1. mmm pumpkin muffins and cheese! sign me up! 🙂

    this cold weather is awful. first time running in it today and it was SO tough. 6 miles felt like 20 miles which is definitely not good lol.

    hope you had a great weekend!

  2. Kelly says:

    that is a MASSIVE cheese wheel. Wow, I think I need to go there. I don’t mind the cold weather for the most part – I just layer up and get out there! Nice running 🙂

  3. You should cook more often as it looks good! I love pumpkin muffins.. yum!

  4. Jenina says:

    I was at Lululemon the other day and of course got convinced (by the running gods themselves) to buy some new running tights and an earband for the winter. I almost got the gloves too. I will need to try out Bocca sometime, that pasta looks awesome!

    • haha Lululemon is addicting, if I go in it’s like I MUST buy something! I wore the gloves this AM and I’m still undecided how I feel about them. They worked well for this run, but I’m interested to see how they fair up against wind..

  5. PorcelinaTweets says:

    Ron Hill makes training in the cold better it seems. Don’t know if you can get that brand in the States….

    And whats made me happy this week? Errrm…an awesome speed work session at my running club on Tuesday (unfortunatley followed by a bad case of DOMS – now I can hardly walk!)

    Hope you have a super weekend, are you going to cheer Shannon on?

  6. Amy says:

    I’m right there with ya…NOT looking forward to when I have to start taking my runs indoors. I’m going to try to man up and run outside as much as possible, and only use the treadmill as an absolute last resort. Woo for running gloves! Do you like them? 🙂

    • well I used my Lululemon gloves ONCE and then lost them, so I don’t feel like I have a solid opinion haha. I liked them, but I felt like they wouldn’t work in wind/extremely cold so I got the Brooks convertible gloves/mittens. In general mittens have worked a lot better for me in the cold.

  7. Kat says:

    Warm apple crisp and green tea latté make me smile and feel comfy. Although those pumpkin muffins sound delish. Running in sub-zero is always a challenge, but since I can’t run to nowhere on a treadmill and stay sane, it’s about finding the most comfortable, warm gear possible and heading out. I run in the evening with my dog. Keeps me moving fast.

Leave a Reply

