Those Things We Cannot Control

There are many things in life that we have zero control over. This fact has always frustrated and angered me. What I’ve learned, though, is it is true I cannot control everything in life, but I can control how I respond/react/deal with situations.

I had planned to do my long run this week on Wednesday because my mom is having surgery on Thursday and I’m going home to NJ to be with her and my family the rest of the week. My home town is EXTREMELY hilly and at this point in training I’m not ready to rough out 15miles of straight hills. Tomorrow (Wed.) is also the ONLY day of the week that it is supposed to rain. I’ve been obsessively checking weather.com since Monday morning, but it is showing 80% chance of rain starting at 5am.

The facts exist – I can not control my Mom is having surgery, or the reason she needs to get it (separate post on the subject to come); I can not control the hilly NJ terrain and I can not control the weather. However, I CAN control my endurance, strength and will to “get ‘er done.” So tomorrow I am going to do my long run rain or shine and dedicate it to those things we CAN control.

The Game Plan – Wake up by 6am and out the door by 6:30am. Less chance of rain and strong winds earlier in the morning. This will be tough as it will be pitch black outside. I’m going to head up to Central Park to meet up with Katie and bang out some miles. If the rain is really bad I will head inside to the treadmill after some miles outside, but that is WORSE case scenario.

The Gear – Capri’s, Hat, wind jacket, fuel belt, iPod, phone, money (for a cab home haha) and some food fuel TBD. Hat is key for the rain.

Wish me luck!!!!

QUESTION: What is the worst running conditions you’ve endured?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Those Things We Cannot Control

  1. helen @ change comes from within says:

    Worst conditions….erm, monstrous driving rain on a 5k race. coupled with a freezing Feb morning. Thankfully I was only out for ~26 mins but totally wore the wrong kit: thermal, cotton t shirt and I forgot my contacts so my glasses fogged. Ridiculous! Lessons learnt though!

    Don’t worry about tomorrow, you’ll rock that long run – rain or no rain. Will be cheering for ya from across the pond!

    Hope your mum’s op goes ok too and it won’t be a stressful time for you.

  2. Kelly says:

    yuck – not a big fan of rain! what helps me deal with a sucky forecast is just telling myself that no matter what, i’m going to run. Then I just stop worrying 🙂 I’ve run in torrential downpours and thunderstorms before – usually it’s not as bad as we think it’s going to be though. have a good run !

  3. Worst conditions for me… well, I’m a bit of a wuss so nothing too extreme. Just the first bit of a thunderstorm coming in. Got the wind, got about a minute of the rain, missed the worst of it. All of that said, I am now coming into storm season, so expecting to trump my previous “worst running conditions” sometime in the next few months. 🙂

  4. I hope your run went well today! I am thinking about your family today 😉

  5. Pingback: Take that Rain – 15 Mile PDR!!!! | sweatpassionandtears

Leave a Reply

