Hold Me To It

I’m not always big on planning out my workouts for the week, because I like the flexibility to do what I feel and sometimes I’m more ambitious in the moment than I am in planning. I feel like this may be a week where I waiver a lot with “am I or am I not going to workout?” though, so in order to keep myself on track, I’m going the planning route. Here’s what’s on the schedule:

Monday: 5 mile run

Tuesday: FULL REST

Wednesday: Long Run! 12 – 16miles (hopefully 16!)

Thursday: Strength Train or 2 mile recovery run

Friday: Rest or cross train

Saturday/Sunday: Rest one and 4mile run one

I’m going home to NJ Wednesday night to Sunday, which is why I need to get my long run done on Wednesday. Obviously it’s just my luck that Wednesday is apparently the ONLY day there’s a high chance of rain this week. Oh well, mine as well prepare for all weather conditions, right? You never know what it’s going to be like race day.

On top of workouts, this week I am committing to the following:

– Working on sleep:  I’ve always had sleeping problems, but it’s important now that I’m training for a marathon that I REALLY work them out and take care of myself. This means sleeping naturally (no Tylenol PM, melatonin, or other remedies). It also means shutting off work and worries from my head somehow, some way — any suggestions?

– Being in a GOOD mood: I kind of had a really bad week a couple of weeks ago and have been plagued by somewhat unnecessary anxiety. I complained a lot about being bored too, which is my own fault! So this week I’m dedicating to looking on the bright side of things! — Please hold me to this one 🙂

– Eating healthy, which doesn’t mean no dessert or no yummy foods. It just means eating what makes me feel good. It also means less refined products and fake sugars. I’m pretty good at eating healthy, but I just want to make a stronger point of it this week — I’m a believer that you are what you eat and eating healthy will aid in my sleep efforts and being in a better mood.

So there my plan — help hold me too it!

QUESTION: What’s on your schedule this week? Are you a planner or a “do what you feel” type?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hold Me To It

  1. Allie says:

    This week I hope to get in lots of runs and a couple of classes in my final two days at Crunch. I’m a planner, who then does a “do what I feel” type mode most days. Good luck with the sleep issue; keeping my bed and space around it free of clutter (and cellphone) goes a long way in helping me get to sleep naturally and letting go of some distractions. I also read a magazine, when I start to read a book before bed I get too into it and stay up too late! Magazine articles = short & better!

  2. Kelly says:

    I am such a planner, it’s ridiculous. I wish I could be more fly by the seat of my pants sometimes! Being in a good mood is a great goal – I consciously tell myself the same thing every week – it’s so easy to get into a funk! Good luck 🙂

  3. Great Plan.. I am not good at holding myself to a plan either but I know with Marathon training I will have too.. I also had a really bad week about two weeks ago and have been having awful anxiety.. I am trying to kick it out but for some reason I can’t.. New Week, New Start 🙂

  4. PorcelinaTweets says:

    I plan everything: runs, budget (weekly and monthly), food, everything – which is 80% good most of the time, but when life throws a curveball sometimes it can knock me sideways and I get all outa whack. I need to find a happy medium…

    Love your other goals for the week – for the sleep thing, maybe some lavender on your pillow or a cammomile tea before bed? Or a milky drink to relax you? I have some nice hynotherapy mp3s that I got for my anxiety issues which could help? Could find a way of getting a copy to you online? Also, have you read The Power of Now?

    Its funny because my anxiety has been raging all last week too – and I notice some of your other followers have too? Weird! Maybe it’s the time of year. Anyway, your plans to eat healthy (vitamin b rich food help with anxiety), looking on the bright side and sleep will really help you out.

    This is going to be a great week for you!

    • Sleeping — I’ve tried lavender and all the tricks, but nothing really works. I’ve had a sleeping problem my whole life. I do have trouble physically wearing myself out, but my main issue is just turning off my thoughts, which I haven’t found a solid way to do, but working on it!

      Yeah I’ve heard from a lot of people that they’ve had anxiety/panic attacks lately. Hopefully we can all get over that! Hope you have a wonderful week!

      • PorcelinaTweets says:

        Poor you, bad sleep is the worst! If I have any brainwaves I will drop you a line.
        Hope your training goes well this week!

  5. I’m totally a planner. I need accountability. I am just getting back on track – due to an injury. I need to start posting my plan for the week! Thanks for the kick in the butt. I needed that.

  6. Pingback: Those Things We Cannot Control | sweatpassionandtears

Leave a Reply

