Fall is Upon Us

I’m declaring, it’s officially fall:

When I woke up this morning, the Today Show told me it was 50 degrees out — burrrr. I couldn’t remember what 50 degrees felt like, so I put my hand out the window of my 15th floor apartment (NO chance I’m going all the way downstairs to step outside and see the temperature) it’d didn’t feel that bad. I really had no idea what to wear for my long run. Since I don’t have running capri’s and it’s not cold enough for my SUPER warm running pants,  I decided to stick with shorts, but wear my Under Armour, warm pull-over with thumb holes. I fueled with a Kashi Granola bar, filled up 2 bottles for my fuel belt and headed out around 7:15am.

When I left my apartment I really had no idea where I was going to end up. I kept going back and forth between running North along the Westside or running around Central Park. I figured if I started out heading North and West slightly I’d be going in the right direction anyways. Midtown wasn’t packed quite yet so I chose Central Park.  I started out with my headphones in, but my ears were burning from the cold and the music was actually boring me, so I took them out. Instead I ran with me and my thoughts up the reservoir, did 1.5 laps around the reservoir and then headed west out of Central Park at 96th street. The last time I’d been in Riverside Park was in 2007 when I walked the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer:

Avon Walk for Breast Cancer, NY 2007

As a side note, the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer is seriously an amazingly inspiring event and I recommend walking it one day. I’ve done NY and D.C.

Anyways, I remembered Riverside Park being really pretty, so I want to check it out. I ran down 96th street to the West Side until I hit Riverside Park and the headed south through the park. To be honest, the park wasn’t as nice as I remembered it. Maybe it was the area I was in, or because I’d just come from the BEST park in the world (CP!), but I wasn’t overly impressed. I ran south about 10 blocks until I found an exit to the Hudson River path. Ahhh water, boats and sunshine — that’s what I was looking for 🙂

The USB cord for my Garmin is MIA, but I mapped the route online for your viewing pleasure:

I didn’t start the map exactly where I started in case any super creepy stalkers are readying this.

So back to my declaration that fall is here — I ran a little over 10 miles and I don’t think I sweated the whole time. By the end of my run, my hands and face where slightly numb. I think it’s time I invest in some running gloves and capris. Just 2 days ago you would have heard me complain that I’m tired of the heat/humidity, but I’m not ready for the cold either! Too soon, too soon.

I walked a few blocks east, but was getting cold so I hoped in a cab! I figured after 10.4miles I deserved a cab, right??

In the end I ran roughly 10.40miles (my Garmin has been a little wacky lately so hard to tell for sure) and ran an avg. of a 10:10 min/mile. I was consciously trying to run slowly and I did good for the most part, but I still feel like my pace should have been a little slower. Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against speed. BUT in 7 months I will be running a marathon for the first time and I’m prone to injury. I’d rather not get injured again in the meantime, so I am taking it slow.

My 10 mile run felt really good today though. No hip/butt pain. I can’t tell you enough how good to feels to run pain free. I honestly felt like I could have kept going a little farther, but I didn’t want to over do it. Yesterday I had second thoughts on whether or not I’d be able to run a marathon; Today’s run restored my faith and knowledge that I CAN DO IT!

Now I’m off to NJ/PA this weekend to celebrate my best friend from elementary school getting married and my BF’s sister getting married. Hope everyone has a lovely fall weekend! And despite Fall means the weather is getting colder and the days are getting shorter, here’s what we have to look forward to:

QUESTIONS: What cold weather running gear do you just love? What’s your favorite running temperature? I’m a baby to the cold…Are you doing anything “fall-ish” this weekend? PLEASE — ANY marathon training tips please share! Also, I’d love to see your training schedule :-)…Do you have a running coach you recommend?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fall is Upon Us

  1. enjoy your weekend in NJ!

    gonna miss you tmrw during long run day. 😦

Leave a Reply

