Are you living life?

I’m a sap for inspirational quotes, anecdotes or stories. When I came across this quote I felt compelled to break it down and ask myself, what have I done in 2011?

So here I go, let’s see what I’ve accomplished…

Take chances – Check! I’ve always been extremely independent, so I’d say moving in with a boy was a big leap for me….saying I Love You…becoming a runner and completing two half marathons when the idea of running anything over a mile previously scared the sh*t out of me…Oh, and I rode a bike through the streets of NY yesterday – I’d pretty much say that’s taking a chance.

Tell the truth – In the work place, to friends and family, I’m pretty honest….

Date someone totally wrong for you – Well I guess it depends how you interpret this. I’ve been dating the same man all year (and we just moved in together a few weeks ago!), I think he’s totally RIGHT for me, but in many ways one could say he’s totally wrong for me. He’s completely into music and I listen to litefm and z100 (aka have no music taste); He loves SciFi, I like chic flicks; I wake up early to run, he wakes up early to go back to bed…opposites attract?

Say NO – I’ve stood up for myself in the work place and said NO. I’ve had to tell my friends and family NO to things when I just felt pulled to thin. I don’t really have a huge problem saying no, I’ve learned that I can’t do everything, I’m not superhuman.

Spend all your cash – a long expensive trip to Italy, buying my Garmin & Nook, jaunting down to Maryland for the weekend SOLEY to eat crab, new running shoes & gear…yeah I’d say my wallets on low!…I am a saver at heart though so this is always a tough task for me.

Get to know someone random – I’ve partially accomplished this by meeting some blogger friends, but I could definitely get to know more random people more often.

Be random – eeehhh I’m a planner, I’m not really good at this. I need to put it on my list of things to do…

Say I Love You – Done and done 🙂

Sing out loud – haha yeah, I feel bad for anyone who has to ride in a car with me….

Laugh at stupid jokes – Do my own count? Yeah I’ve done this. I’m pretty dorky…

OK, maybe we had too much to drink, but it was really funny at the time

Cry – I used to be embarrassed to cry, but now it seems like a regular activity.

Apologize – I admit when I’m wrong and unfortunately I’ve had too apologize a few too many times this year.

Tell someone how much they mean to you – Yes, I’ve done this. I was hard for me to open up, but it felt good. I should tell my parents though more often.

Tell a jerk what you think – I try to keep jerks out of my life…

Laugh until your stomach hurts – Done! Those are the best times, need more…

Live Life — I’m trying…

Drinking up every last sip of life!

Regret Nothing – So far, no regrets, just learning experiences.

So, do you feel like you’re living life this year??? What have you accomplished and what do you need to work on? Test yourself! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Are you living life?

  1. Sucha good post! And I agree with everytyig you said!

    I am defiantly living life! I am taking risk I never though I would take and doing things totally ot “megan”/

  2. Amy says:

    Awesome, love it 🙂 I went through all of them and thought about my own answers…I’d say moving across the country without a job, getting one, and then moving back again definitely qualifies as taking a chance for both of us! Also, congrats on moving in with the BF!! How are you liking it so far!? Wonderful, right? 🙂

  3. Love the quote box! I think I have done most this year. With the exception of dating someone totally wrong for me (I have been married a while so that probably wouldnt sit well with the husband) but I have done that in my lifetime. I need more “laughing until my stomach hurts” situations!
    “Live life. No Regrets”-I love it.

  4. Kelly says:

    I’m a planner too and am terrible at being random or spontaneous! I’m not sure that will ever get better 🙂 But other that, I’m trying to live life the way I want (with no regrets) as much as I can. I love cheezy quotes like that one, and it definitely makes me think about stuff I should be doing differently.

  5. rungiarun says:

    Love this … it really got me thinking. I think I’ve done most things this year. Adding twins to our family has made it a pretty full year! I think I need to work on saying NO – as the twins near 1 I find myself saying NO quite a bit and I always feel bad! and being random – I tend to try and control the chaos with organization and some days I should just let it go 🙂

  6. officially in love with this post. 🙂

    bookmarked!!!

  7. Pingback: Trying New Things the Runners Way | sweatpassionandtears

Leave a Reply

