New Restaurant and Yoga – Here’s to trying new things!

After work last night my co-workers and I all went out to dinner for a co-worker’s going-away send off. We went to Yerba Buena in the West Village. We had fairly early reservation, by NY standards, at 6:30pm. We headed out a little early to get in a drink at the bar prior to dinner and arrive around 6pm. The restaurant was fairly empty with only a few other bar-goers. The restaurant was small and the decor was fun, yet classy with a “Night in Spain” feel. One of the draws of the restaurant is their specialty cocktail menu that boast drinks with  variety of unusual, fresh ingredients such as watermelon, cherry tomatoes, and ginger beer. I shared an array of appetizers from guacamole to ceviche to spinach/cheese empanadas with my fellow diners. I wasn’t a fan of the guacamole because it had a bacon taste to it (I know it’s odd, but yes, I loathe bacon), but the empanadas were to die for! For the main course I had the blackened cod, which was also delicious. I think at one point I declare, “I never knew I loved cod so much!” We also share the “trio of fries” – watermelon, avocado and hearts of palm. Deceivingly I thought the trio of fries meant a trio of dipping sauces, but nope, I was wrong! The fries were actually fried this slices of watermelon, avocado and hearts of palm! The watermelon was my favorite with a nice slight sweetness to it, with avocado coming in a close second place. I’m a fan of hearts of palm in general, but the fried version was a little too hard and dull for my liking. Oh and for dessert, churros with a chocolate and caramel dipping sauce.

They were OK, very light yet sweet, but nothing that “wowed” me. By 8pm all the tables and bar stools were filled. The noise level picked up and it got a little hot and stuffy. After dinner and a couple more drinks at the table, some of my coworkers headed to another bar, but I skipped out. Being extremely tired from my 5:30am 8mile run that morning and suddenly becoming “miss responsible,” knowing I had signed up for a yoga class in the AM, I headed home around 10pm.

After another poor nights sleep (this heat is making it unbearable to sleep even with the A/C blasting!), I woke up at 6:30am to make it to an Iyengar yoga class at Yoga Sutra. I’ve never tried Iyengar yoga, nor had I been to Yoga Sutra, so I was excited to try something new! To sweeten the deal, it was a “community donation” class which means that it was only a recommended $5 donation to attend the class (option, but worth it). The studio offers a variety of these donation based classes, so I definitely recommend checking it out. I will be posting a review of the class on FitForClass.com, a new fitness review site that was launched by Melissa and that I am an excited to announce I will be a feature reviewer for.  To give you a sneak preview though, here is me trying out the intermediate step to a head stand…

There was only 3 people (including myself) in the class this morning, so I was the dork who asked the teacher to take my picture. Iyenga Yoga focuses on mastering posture and holding poses, so it was a somewhat slower moving yoga class, although we did do a  fast-paced vinysasa yoga series to warm up . Normally I can’t stand the slow moving, breathing focused, yoga classes; I’m too impatient and when I workout I want to WORKOUT. This morning, though, it was just what I needed. I was mentally and physically tired and it helped to revive my spirit and my limbs! Also, I hate to say it, but I spend a lot of my day slouched at a desk (a girl’s got to make a living!) with awful posture. That fact combined with being a runner and with my 3/4th-healed injury, it was felt good to do a class that focused on alignment and posture, while stretching and strengthening.

The yoga class was a nice relaxing way to start the day and I felt refreshed when I left…Or at least the first few minutes until the reality of the oppressive heat I was walking to work in kicked in…

The rest of the day I spent in my air conditioned office, combatting really water, dry  and itchy eyes and a slightly drippy nose. Ugh – does the heat bring out allergies or am I just worn down?

QUESTION: Have you tried any new classes lately that you recommend? Do you like relaxing yoga or intense, heart pounding, sweat dripping yoga? Any tips of getting some good sleep!?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Restaurant and Yoga – Here’s to trying new things!

  1. Dori says:

    Those fries!!! WOW. I need to try those. I like relaxing yoga and intense yoga depending on my mood. I never like hot yoga though.

  2. Yes, the fries were so interesting!!! And tasty if you’re not expecting a potato hahaha

    I used to love hot yoga in the winter, but I’m kind over the feeling like I’m going to pass out feeling.

Leave a Reply

