Yes, it shall be a good week!

After having a pretty good Monday and then actually completing my run this morning, I officially declared (to myself) that this was going to be a good week after all!

Why do I say “actually completing my run?” It’s because this morning many factors were just not going right. I did not sleep well, I was too hot despite blasting the A/C AND a fan, which makes waking up at 6am very tough for me. I had determined last night that I would not let myself skip my run this morning for any reason besides pain from my injury and once I make that decision, it’s set. When my alarm went off at 6am, I did something very very bad – I hit snooze (strike 1). After all, I was planning a short run, so even if I started at 7am I’d have time to do it; plus it was raining last night, so surely the overcast clouds must be lingering into the morning and I wouldn’t be attacked by harsh sun at 7am, right? Not quite. I laced up, throwing on a hat to block my face from the sun INCASE it did come out glaring and headed out by 7am. I went to turn on the radio (Lite FM of course) on my ipod and that’s when strike 2 happened, my ipod was dead. Well, I sucked it up and told myself I could make it a mere 3-4miles with just my thoughts. I mean, to be honest, I’m 1/2 sleeping during my runs in the morning anyways. Next came strike 3, the sun was out! No cloudy skies as I had expected. Well despite the 3 strikes against me, I made it 4 miles (the longer option of my planned 3 OR 4 miles). So yeah, that made me feel good! I should probably go apologize to my doorman though for dripping sweat all through the lobby…

I took a chance and walked to work again today (1.5 miles). I was prepared for the heat today, though. I wore some clean gym clothes and brought clothes to change into at work. Here’s my walking outfit:

At work we had lunch ordered in to celebrate a co-workers 2 year anniversary.  I had teriyaki salmon, asian veggies and a whole wheat roll — yum yum yum!

…and tonight I came home (a little sweaty from the walk, walk home is always hotter) to a present from myself that had arrive – a Nook! Note, I did not get the Nook color because it’s too heavy and I don’t need all that jazz in a reader. I just wanted something that I could easily carry with me everywhere and could easily use on the bike at the gym. I’m going to try it out tonight so I’ll let you know how I like it.

So despite the extreme heat and my sleeping troubles, I’m sticking with the fact that this is and will be a good week!

QUESTION: Any fun plans this week? Anything you’re looking forward to this weekend? Would love some suggestions for NYC (and borrows) fun summer weekend things to do!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yes, it shall be a good week!

  1. Dori says:

    Very interested to hear about your Nook! I have an iPad but it is a little big for every day book reading.

    Good work on the run! I got a gorgeous photo of the sunrise today on my run.

  2. I have an Ipad to read and it’s a little heavy and big.

    Such a pretty run! I am heading to Jersey to visit my parents this weekend!

Leave a Reply

