The Day I Fell in Love with Central Park

This morning, I tried something new (2 new things to be exact)! I woke up unexpectedly early for me @ 5:30am. Check out the view from my apartment at that time, sun not fully out yet – yey!

Sorry got a little reflection of me in my sports bra in there.

…The real change, though, I ran up to Central Park! If you’ve been reading my blog, you may have noticed that I have an affinity towards running along the East (and West on long run days) River. This is mainly due to location and convenience. Central Park is a 2mile run through mid-town for me, which isn’t too exciting. The only times I’ve run through central park has been on NYRR races and my first half marathon. However, the dream of a shady path and rumored promises of a beautiful path shared with many other runners drew me in. Luckily, at 6am there wasn’t much foot or car traffic on my way up to the park. I enter Central Park on 60th and 5th ave and was immediately greeted by a group of fellow runners. I ran north and stumbled upon the Reservoir path. My route went like this:

Central Park was a little hillier than my normal running path, but the experience was glorious! The park is so peaceful in the morning and I love being surrounded by fellow runners and bikers in the early hours when most people are sleeping. Needless to say the views from the Reservoir were beautiful, but unfortunately I do not run with my phone so I can not share them with you :-(.

The last two miles home were tough. My legs were feeling heavy and the heat was kicking in. I completed my planned 8miles and stopped abruptly at 8.02miles. Overall it was a slower run (10:45/mile overall pace), but it felt good just to do it and try a new route!

When I got home I was a sweaty mess. There was not one dry space on my shirt. Here come some sexy “post run” photos:

Ok so maybe more gross than sexy, but still…

After a nice COLD shower, I hoped back into bed – one perk of getting up super early! Eventually I had to get up because my stomach was screaming at me and the Today Shower was calling (oh yeah work too). I was craving something creamy so I had some blueberry greek yogurt topped with a banana and a side of bran cereal with iced coffee.

Now I must be off to start the day, although I feel like I’ve already gone through one! Looking forward to dinner with my coworkers at Yerba Buena tonight in the west village. I’ve never been, but it has been on my list!

Hope you have a wonderful day 🙂

QUESTIONS: What’s your favorite place to run in NYC? I’m excited to try new routes now! What do you crave post run? Any tips for conquering hills on a run? They’re somewhat new to me. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Day I Fell in Love with Central Park

  1. Yay! Central Park in the early hours is the best. So glad you were able to get out there and enjoy it! (And next time say hi!)

  2. Dori says:

    Great job going to the park today! That is an awesome route with the reservoir in there, good work. 8 miles before work in intense, and soon I will be up to that too… only I will have to wake up a LOT earlier than 5:30 for it! I think you should run with your phone in case of an emergency and you need to call for help. I used to leave it at home but now I never do.

  3. Great job on getting up and running to the park. Where do you live in the city?? Unfortantely in order for me to do that long of a run I have to wake up at liek 4:30!

    • Thanks! I want to say it was tough, but I was actually wide awake when my alarm went off.

      I just moved to Murray Hill last Saturday.

      EEEk 4am is definitely unreasonable! See above my comment above, I’m lucky I have the time in the AM if I get everything done efficiently.

  4. Kelly says:

    hooray for Central Park! My favorite place to run, hands down. Even in this crazy heat/humidity. Such a pretty view from your apt!

  5. Melissa says:

    Killer run! Yerba Buena was really good the last time i was there!

  6. I would love to run in Central Park someday. Something I should add to the bucket list. 🙂

    Sounds like a fun, relaxing run and a great way to start a day.

  7. Pingback: New Restaurant and Yoga – Here’s to trying new things! | sweatpassionandtears

  8. Pingback: Resting, Running and Review (Garmin) | sweatpassionandtears

  9. Pingback: Week in Review: Re-Setting Expectations | sweatpassionandtears

Leave a Reply

