I’m back!

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged. I think it’s because life just got away from me and my energy has been waining. Either way I’m back!

To give you an update on my injury and running – since seeing the sh*ty (pardon my language) general practitioner, I decided to get a recommendation for a sports doctor from a couple of friends of mine that have run multiple marathons and suffered a few injuries of their own. They referred me to Dr. Andrew Rosen and I’m thankful I went to see him. Dr.  Rosen is a runner himself and understands the need to run and the emotional pain it causes to “take a break.” He took x-rays and eased my fears telling me that my joints and bones are looked perfect. His prognosis was that I have Pirformis Syndrome causing my jabbing and aching pain. To read more about the syndrome see:

http://www.tzengs.com/health/Piriformis%20Syndrome/index.htm

 

The doctor prescribed 6 weeks of physical therapy, twice a week. He gave me permission to continue running, just take it a little easy and listen to the pain. I started Physical Therapy two weeks ago and have been religiously doing the exercises and stretches I’ve been given on a daily basis. It may all be in my head, but I feel like it’s getting a little better (fingers crossed!). The way the Physical Therapist explained it to me made a lot of sense – he said that running is not so much an exercise as an art form and a skill; you need to prepare your body BEFORE you start running heavily. Hence I need to build up my muscle strength, balance and flexibility.

And an update on my running – I’ve cut back a LITTLE from running. I still try to run 5 days a week, but if I run 4 days, I’m totally OK with that and don’t beat myself up over it. If I wake up in the morning and my hip/leg/butt are in pain, I stay in bed and skip running. That being said, I am trying to run consistently to keep up my endurance. I’d say I’m 1/2 training for the Queens Half Marathon on July 30th – I’m slowly training to run it, but if I’m not able to I’m not going to push myself. I ran 7.34 miles on Sunday because I wanted to run 7 miles last weekend to keep on track to be able to run the race – that may have not been the best idea. I was exhausted and in a lot of pain after. Today I had to rest because pirformis pain was really acting up. That means today is including a lot of stretching and some strengthening exercises.

I have to say, running in Summer in NYC has become a whole new challenge in itself! The high humidity and extreme heats we’ve been experiencing are hard on the body. These days I take my waist fuel pack with me even to do short 3-5mile runs.

QUESTION: How do you deal with running in the heat/humidity? Any tips or advice?

Have a fabulous Monday :-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m back!

  1. Pingback: Running Toys! | sweatpassionandtears

  2. Pingback: Pre-Race Week Countdown | sweatpassionandtears

Leave a Reply

