Rest and Recovery

This morning when my alarm clock went off at 7am I was excited that it wasn’t raining yet, but not so thrilled how my body felt. I was exhausted. Physically, mentally – staying in bed was the right choice. I took Monday as a rest day as well, so I was a little bummed that I was taking another day off from running so soon, but I was not disappointed in myself. Quite the opposite actually. I’ve been groping with this pain in my hip/back/butt/leg for some time now. Prior to starting running back in January, it was more of a muscle pain that made it hurt to walk or run. Running, combined with stretching helped that pain pain disappear, but it has recently been replaced with a new pain – a sharp jabbing, throbbing pain to my hip/side of my right thigh. I experience the pain the most when I’m sitting or laying down and  if I try to sleep on my right side it strongly brings it out. I think that’s why I woke up so exhausted – I spent 1/2 of the night throbbing with the pain as I’d turn to my right side to sleep and then feel the pain and have to wait 30min for it to go away. Me being a dog that chases its tail continuously, I did that multiple times through the night.

From the insightful google, this is what I believe I have:

http://www.tzengs.com/health/Piriformis%20Syndrome/index.htm

I’m going to a doctor on Saturday from the advice of a close friend who is also a certified yoga and pilates instructor.

Anyways, today I’m not so much resting as RECOVERING. I’m doing the smart thing and staying off the pain instead of trying to push through it. I did walk to work this morning though, I can stand being absolutely immobile. After all, I do sit at a desk for a good part of my day. It was cloudy, but a nice warm temperature on my walk and walking was starting to turn my crappy morning mood to a positive one…until I was 3 blocks away from my work and it started POURING. Typical – actually kinda made me laugh 🙂

QUESTION: Do you suffer from any muscle/joint pain? Have you found any remedies that work (medicine, acupuncture, stretching?)?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rest and Recovery

  1. Pingback: Pre-Race Week Countdown | sweatpassionandtears

  2. Pingback: Week in Review: Re-Setting Expectations | sweatpassionandtears

  3. Pingback: Starting from Scratch | sweatpassionandtears

  4. Pingback: From Canada to the Hudson River | sweatpassionandtears

  5. Pingback: Fall is Upon Us | sweatpassionandtears

  6. Pingback: Fall is Upon Us | sweatpassionandtears

  7. Pingback: Hello 2012! | sweatpassionandtears

  8. Pingback: Back on my Feet and Lovin’ it! | sweatpassionandtears

Leave a Reply

