Race Week Jitters!

This is it, 5 days to the big event! I know I’m ready, I’ve proven to myself many times over the past 2 months that I can push my body and accomplish what I put my mind to, but I’ve still got the jitters! I think they may be more anxious jitters than  nervous jitters though.

This morning I did my last long-ish (8miles) run prior to Sunday. I was honestly proud of myself for doing it because I told myself that this week I was going to relax and not run far if I was too tired or in a poor mindset. This morning I woke up TIRED and did not want to get out of bed. I made myself do it though, put some clothes on, had a sip of coffee and headed to the gym. I told myself I only had to do an easy 3 miles and if I wanted to stop after that I could; but ya know what, after 3miles I didn’t want to stop! I wanted to finish my 8 and that’s just what I did. I did suffer a slight “mal-nutrition” due to poor preperation prior to my run. I wasn’t really hungry when I woke up, probably due to the wine and late night snacks I had the night before, so I just had a very small 50cal snack. The hungry kicked in around mile 4, along with that dragging feeling. That’s when I decided to try the EnergyJelly Beans I had brought along.

They worked miracles! The combination of sugar, carbs and caffeine gave me the boast I needed. It did start to hurt my stomach a bit, but I only had a few intermittently so it was OK. Needless to say these will be coming with me to my 1/2 marathon on Sunday. I think they’ll fit perfectly in the little pocket on the sleeve of my zip up.

Any who, to all those running the More 1/2 marathon on Sunday, good luck and see you there!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

