What Brought Me Here

I’m not a big fan of “can’t do’s” and one thing I’ve always made excuses for is running. I’m not a runner, I don’t LOVE it like most people do, but something about the thrill of distance and accomplishment draws me to it. Over the past couple of years I’ve had a few friends that have accomplished 1/2 marathons and marathons and I’ve always been envious, but made the excuse that I couldn’t do it because my body would physically give out; I have bad ankles, knees and hips from dancing ballet growing up and I would be in pain from an exercise that is so intense on the joints such as running.

My excuses for not running, though, were subconscience and I didn’t put together that they were in fact, simply just that, excuses. The funny thing is that I finally came to the realization that I was making excuses for myself when I was in a lot of physical pain. I had hurt a muscle in my back/hip/butt that would not go away and even running a 1/2 mile killed. The fact that there was something that I physically could not do, though, started to inferiate me (like I said, I’m not a fan of “can’t”). So in mid January 2011 I decided to JUST DO IT. I signed up for the More 1/2 Marathon on April 3rd in NYC – a date that was far enough away to give me time to train, but close enough that I would not lose motivation.  I’m now 3 weeks away from the race and I’ve literally gone from not being able to run 1mile straight to running 11 miles. The best part, running has actually made some of my joint pain go away!

Anyways, what brings me to blogging at this point? Reading random strangers’ blogs has given me motivation and strength along my journey and I hope I can do the same for others. It’s nice to know sometimes that there’s other people out their going through what you are 🙂

Welcome to my blog!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Brought Me Here

  1. Pingback: Week in Review: Re-Setting Expectations | sweatpassionandtears

  2. Pingback: Starting from Scratch | sweatpassionandtears

  3. Pingback: Knowing Your Faults | sweatpassionandtears

Leave a Reply

