Beating the cold

This morning when my alarm went off at 6:30am the last thing I wanted to do was wake up to run, especially since I had planned to run outside and it was still dark out. I snoozed my alarm, foolishly thinking I’d naturally wake up 30min later at 7am and I could just do a shorter run. Well, at 7:15am I woke up in shock and checked my clock realizing it was past my run time. I had two options at this point:

1) stay in my warm cozy bed next to my heat radiating boyfriend and take the day off from running

2) Get my butt up and go!

I chose option #2 🙂 It was tough, but in retrospect I’m proud of myself. Anywho, I was out the door in 5min, paving the 33 degree streets. It was COLD. Very very cold. Little to no wind, but the chill was ripping through me. Even worse, I thought I could make it 3-5miles without eating anything before, I was wrong. Being plagued by hunger and hypothermia I kept trucking. Part of me thought about turning back after the first couple of block and just throwing in the towel for the day, but I was up and out and I was going to stay out. I ended up doing a 3.6mile loop that goes from my apartment, along the east river and back. I swear the whole 35min, I did not warm up once. I wasn’t even sweating when I was done and my face/fingers were FROZEN!! But ya know what, I did it and I smiled about the way.

Sometimes it’s not about the journey, it’s about getting it done.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beating the cold

  1. Dori says:

    Glad you got out there! I remember last year when I was training for the NYC Half, I had my 8 mile run on the coldest day of the year, 17 degrees I believe. I felt fine while running, but when I got home and took off my gloves, I couldn’t even get into my apartment building because my fingers were too frozen to turn the lock in the key! I had to stand in my little vestibule and warm up before I could get inside. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

