Knowing Your Faults

Like in any part of life, we all have those things we do really well and those things we do really poorly. When I first committed to running, a little less than 3 years ago, I discovered right away that one of things I could do well was simply run. I didn’t run fast well and when I started I wasn’t running far, but I could get myself up and on the treadmill, or out the door everyday. I ran to run and I began to love it. I began to crave running. I’d spent years trying to get myself to enjoy exercise, so I chose to embrace the high.

My 9th week of running & training for my first half marathon, I reached 40 miles for the week. 40 F*ing miles!!! Seriously, I keep logs, I’m not making this up. I’ve since trained for 3 marathons, which I’ve had to back out of all of them for injury and have not broke much past 30mile weeks. I felt badass, but I also didn’t think much of it. I didn’t understand why anyone would even consider not going for a run when there legs and heart were begging them to RUN.

Image

4 Months after I began running, I ran head first into my greatest exercise fault. Funny enough, what I had previously considered my talent, turned into what was dually showing to cause my down fall: I didn’t know when to stop running. I didn’t feel pain, I didn’t feel fatigue, I didn’t consider running too much too fast and not letting my body rest and recovery. I also replaced what would previously had been strength training days with running days. The joy I got from running far exceeded the mundaneness of lifting weights. Quickly proceeding my first half marathon, my first injury started to poke it’s head. I continued to run more and my injury continued to scream in pain for me to stop. I Mr. Injury to SHUT UP and I ran. Unfortunately, Mr. Injury didn’t like being told to shut up and instead, shut me down. Since my first injury, I’ve endured a few more. It’s been a while since I’ve taken an english class, but I believe this is what would be considered in literature the “fatal flaw.”

You may be wondering why the heck I’m bringing all this up now and the answer is – it’s a reminder to myself and possibly anyone else reading who may be letting the antagonistic part of themselves win. I notice myself getting back into the same pattern lately -Work has been stressful and it’s getting cold out, which depresses the heck out of me. A good run always picks up my spirits and metaphorically dusts of any bricks that may have piled up on my back throughout the day. Monday I ran because, well, it was Monday. Tuesday I ran to get the kinks out of my body that had piled up from sitting at a desk in meetings all day. Wednesday I ran for stress, for the gorgeous sunset along the Hudson River and the beauty of seeing the sparkling lights of the city from the middle of the Brooklyn Bride. All good reasons in my mind, but not good reason enough to be running 3 days in a row and risking being stuck on my couch again.

So note to self, this week try running with your head a little more than your heart :-)

QUESTION: What is your greatest exercise strength and fault?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Knowing Your Faults

  1. Dori says:

    The good thing is that now you recognize when you’re falling into bad habits — like running 3 days in a row — and can take control so it doesn’t happen again. My greatest exercise strength is mental stamina – I realized lately that I am able to push through discomfort better than many other people. My biggest weakness is a fear of “losing training/results” by taking time off to heal if something hurts. I need to work on taking full weeks off if I need to and know it won’t affect my results in the long run.

  2. werkitinnyc says:

    In life and in running, our biggest strengths are also our biggest weaknesses.

Leave a Reply

