Spring Cleansing the Body: My Attempt at a Juice Cleanse

On Monday April 8th, 2 days before my 28th Birthday, I decided to attempt a 1-day Spring Juice Cleanse from Organic Avenue. I have never cleansed before and was terrified to try. I figured I could manage 1-day though, it seemed doable. My goal for the cleanse was purely to rid my body of toxin’s and feel refreshed. Here’s how it went….

I received my package of 6 juices & a booster shot the day before the cleanse to make sure I’d have them on time. Delivery was punctual and came in a nice package.

2013-04-07 19.27.57

My initial thought on seeing the juices – “Shit, this is ALL I am eating for a day!?”

My morning started at 8:45am with some hot water with lemon (to aid in digestion). Followed by a shot if E3:

2013-04-08 08.45.02

ENLIVENING E3
E3 Live, a wild-harvested, organic blue-green algae, is potent mix of 64 vitamins, minerals, and enz…

The shot was gross, but I downed it like a champ. I’d like to thank high school and vodka for my talent.

10:15am: I’m at work and on pleasantly enjoying my first drink of the day, Royal Red Seasonal Juice. It’s the dreaded (for me) juice of the pack. Beet juice generally makes me want to gauge, but this one is actually tasty! The fruit juices, lemon and ginger that are also in it cut the taste of the beets nicely. I know it’s ONLY the beginning of the day, but I feel oddly energized already! I’m not sure if it’s the bolt of vitamins from the juice, or just the simple mental knowledge that I’m doing something good and clean for my body.

2013-04-08 10.04.53

11:30am: My energy high is wearing off, starting to feel a little depleted. I got a class of water and feel a little better. Not really hungry still, the juice is filling me up so far.

11:50am: On to juice #2, Mellow Love. I’m not sure why the words “mellow,” or “love” are used in this one. After two sips, there’s a solid chance I won’t finish it. Not a fan. I think it may be a battle of hunger vs. the nasty green juice for the hour…

2013-04-08 11.52.57

1:20pm: Hunger won the bottle, I killed the nasty Mellow Love green juice. Take that juice! I’m now thinking of this day as a challenge and experiment vs. a healthy thing for my body. I’ve heard a lot of people say that on a cleanse they don’t feel hungry, but they just have the desire to chew. I feel the complete opposite. I’m hungry, but delusional enough where it’s not really bothering me. I could careless about chewing – inject french frie grease into my blood, give me a smoothie, I just want the bulk, the fat, the calories.

1:40pm: Not much time has passed since I finished juice #2 since it took me a while to get down. I’m hungry, though, so now onto juice #3, Truthful Turmeric Tonic. It’s drinkable. It tastes almost like a lemonade mixed with a Bloody Mary (no vodka, sad).

2013-04-08 13.37.46

2:25pm: I’m still hungry. Just thinking about the large cake with pink icing and sprinkles that I will be eating in two days on my Birthday :-)

3:00pm: I’m staring lifelessly at the computer, I can’t concentrate. I could have a conversation with someone, but reading isn’t going down…

3:20pm: OK I’m really hungry, this is not feeling good now. I should have worked from home. I try juice #4, Caring Carrot Juice. Ok, I may die. The carrot juice isn’t AS bad as I was expecting, but not once part of me wants to drink it.

2013-04-08 15.19.51

3:24pm: Maybe if I stop trying to drink anything, the hunger will pass. Or I will pass out?

3:52pm: MY BODY NEEDS FOOD

4:10pm: I’m taking a break from Mr.Carrot Juice. Time to try juice #5, Green Love Green Juice. I stand over it saying to myself, “please be good, please be good,” before I open the bottle…Hope is 50% lost. It’s drinkable in that “I want to survive, I’ll drink anything” type of way. I just realized the only juice I enjoyed so far was the beet juice — weird.

2013-04-08 16.10.40

4:40pm: I may need to eat today. I’ve given up on the carrot juice, which puts me down to 800 calories for the day. That can’t be good right? Did Organic Quinoa ever kill anyone?….I just need to make it home, maybe I’ll feel better once I lay down.

5:25pm: Green Love juice done! I’m going home.

5:35pm: I’m on the train going home. I feel awful, my body is slowly losing life. I’m eating food tonight.

When I got home from work I tried juice #6, Creative Cashew Hemp Mylk, to see if it would provide me any satisfaction. It did not. I’ve heard the Milk’s are delicious, but I barely like this one. Giving up on the juice, I took a bath to try and revive some life into and maybe ward off hunger. It didn’t really work.

6:15pm: I’ve eaten a whopping total of 550 calories today! That’s it, I’m eating dinner. I’ll try my hardest to keep it “clean.”

….And by 7pm dinner was on! I didn’t go wild, I had some quinoa with black beans, red peppers, eggplant and shredded cheese (all organic, no GMO).

2013-04-08 19.15.48

Right after I ate dinner I passed out for about an hour from 7:30pm – 8:30m. It was like the food punched my body to sleep. When I woke up I was hungry so I followed dinner up with a small homemade pumpkin muffin w/a bit of peanut butter and a handfull of cereal. I followed that up with a small homemade pumpkin muffin w/a bit of peanut butter and a handfull of cereal.

I tried to go to bed at 10pm to let me body rest because despite breaking the cleanse, I still only ate about 1,000 -1,200 calories that day. I didn’t sleep a wink. I think eating made my body feel rejuvenated and like it was ready for a whole knew day. I felt wide awake.

The next morning I woke up unrested, but I felt normal/fine. My apetite had definitely gone down. It was a gorgeous day out so I went out for a run around 12noon (when it was 80 degrees out!) and my body just didn’t feel right. I was getting winded too quickly and started to feel nauseous as I ran. Things just felt really off, so I gave in at 3miles. When I came home I down coconut water and weighed myself. I had lost 2.8% of my body weight in 1 day! No wonder I felt sick trying to do cardio. I’m sure the lost weight was not “real weight” and likely water weight, although how do you lose water weight when all you’re doing is drinking fluid?? I wasn’t going into the cleanse looking to lose weight, though, I just wanted to cleanse my body of toxins and hopefully gave some energy. I’d consider that goal a fail haha

All day I was not hungry like I normally am. My body felt really off. The next day I was beginning to feel better, but had the same nauseous reaction when I tried to do any cardio, which lifted my heart rate.  My hunger still was not back as well, I was eating meals because I felt like I “should.”

Final Thoughts: I have NO IDEA how people cleanse for 3-5 days! I’ve heard from other’s that you don’t feel hungry, but I wasn’t that lucky and I honestly don’t understand how you could not be hungry! I’ve checked out other juice cleanses to compare caloric value and they all offer 900 – 1,100 calories, less than the recommended minimum intake for any adult for a day. I’ve also been told that if you are hungry, you are allowed to add in additional juices, but honestly, I just had no desire to drink another juice haha. I do understand how for some people, it could  make you feel rejuvenated and give you energy if you complete a full 3-days, but I did reep any of those benefits. Drinking only juice for 2/3rd’s of a day completely depleted my body and I felt the negative effect of lack of energy for the next 3 days. In retrospect, I know my body pretty well and I should have known it wouldn’t have reacted well to this experience. My body does not do well with calorie restriction. I feel like if it was a juice & smoothie plan with 1,300 -1,600 calories included in the daily value, I may have been alright. In summary, I will never do a cleanse again, it’s not for me. That being said, I’ve heard if you have more serious issues such as indigestion problems, I’ve heard cleanses are great….and as a disclaimer, none of my negative feelings towards the cleanse are associated or reflective of anything to do with Organic Avenue. Delivery and service were wonderful, the plan was just not right for me.

You can view the cleanse and all the juices I tried here.

QUESTIONS: Have you ever tried a juice cleanse? How did you feel during/after? If you have any additional questions on my experience just ask!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring Cleansing the Body: My Attempt at a Juice Cleanse

  1. I’ve never tried a juice cleanse, mainly for the reasons you listed. I know my body enough to know that that would never fill me up, and I’d get extremely lethargic and be unable to focus. I also much prefer to eat my calories than to drink them–I like the feeling of solid food too much! :)

    However, my mom has attempted to coerce me into eating nothing but apples for 3 days as a way to detox. I tried it for half a day, and then got (1) sick of apples and (2) insanely hungry, so that ended quickly haha.

    • haha I think human’s are SUPPOSED to like and eat solid food! I have heard that if you do a 3-day cleanse you feel a lot better one day 2 than day 1, but again, I don’t think it’s for me.

      I’m not sure eating apples for a detox is the best idea either, likely best to eat many different fruits/vegetables to get all the nutrients, but I guess apples are easier to focus on (and tasty!). I’ve just been trying to eat more clean/organic and THAT actually makes me feel better and there’s no risk of passing out!

  2. As a holistic health coach I don’t recommend all juice cleanses and you basically summed up why. Clean food is definitely the best way to go!

Leave a Reply

