Training Ebbs and Flows

The past couple of weeks I’ve really come to understand the common phrase, “somedays you have good runs, some days you have bad runs.”

For about 2.5 weeks I was basically out of commission with marathon training due to a bad cold. I learned the hard way that when you’re sick, REST. I likely would have been back to training full force in a week if I had taken that advice from the start. Hey, you live and learn…

This is what I SHOULD have been doing…

Obviously I got extremely down on myself and negative thoughts about not being able to build my milage back up and run the marathon flowed through my head during those 2.5 weeks.  Encouraging words from the running community helped a bit, but really no one can help me change my attitude. During my break down I texted my favorite running buddy ever dumping out my fears. Our convo went something like this:

Me: There’s no way I’m going to be able to run the marathon now, I haven’t run in 2 weeks and the week I did run was my cut back week

Running Buddy: You’ll be fine! Just rest, get better and you’ll come back strong! You have plenty of time

Me: No way, I’m not like those other bloggers who can just not run for weeks and then just come back and run 15mile out of nowhere.

Well, last Saturday, after taking 3 FULL days of COMPLETE rest, I was antsy and was pretty determined that I would be completing a long run as planned. Having not run much at all the 2 weeks prior, I didn’t expect much out of myself — maybe 8 miles tops? I was feeling a lot better, not 100%, but I was OK with 80% at that point, my lungs at least felt fine. I met up with the Team for Kids (the charity group I signed up for the NYCM through) in Central Park for the Saturday group long run. I’ve never run with the TFK group before, but I knew on this run I would need support from a group. Running along would have been a disastrous mess of fear, negative thoughts and probably me quitting early. I ran to Central Park, then ran 7 mile with the TFK along the Bridle Path in Central Park. I was kind of beat by then, but I wanted to meet up with my Kristine (previously referenced as my favorite running buddy) because I hadn’t seen her in a while and I love running with her, so I figured a mile or two more wouldn’t kill me. I met up with Kristine and her friend Mike in Columbus Circle and we made our way down the west side. To make a long story short, I made it 13.15 miles!!! My legs were pretty much in complete pain and my left hip flexor was tight as a mother F*!cker, but somehow I did it. Oh did I also mention is was about 90% humidity out and I was dehydrated and dripping in sweat from head to toe? I was happy as a clam though (btw, why are clam’s happy? They’re not even real tasty). Walking home I smiled thinking that “I am that girl.” I’m one of those bloggers who can not run for a few weeks and then just come back and run a half marathon distance.

After a “glorious” run on Saturday, the “bad” run came next. I hadn’t slept well Sunday night so when it came time to wake up for a run Monday morning I said “no way” to myself. It was a temperate day, so I just planned to run at night instead. I brought my running gear to work and headed out to the West Side highway straight from work for a jog. Technically I should be doing 6mile week day runs, I was fine settling on 3-4miles since I was super sore and I ended with 2miles. My legs just weren’t feeling it, like AT ALL. I throw in the towel and honestly didn’t even feel bad about it. Every runner has good runs and bad runs, this was my bad run…and following the wise wisdom, I made up for it on Wednesday by having a pretty decent 7 mile run.

It’s important to remember that running isn’t only a physical game, its largely a mental game. No body will ever argue that fact that people have bad days and good days; sometimes you wake up with a smile and sometimes you wake up with a grimace…and some days your run will make you feel on top of the world; and other days your run will make you feel like horse-crap scrapped off the bottom of your shoe and will have you questioning why you even partake in this heinous sport.

Let’s be real, as long as your keep going, your bad run with never be your last. There will be more smiling finish lines. And I think we all know why we put up with those bad runs anyways…

QUESTIONS: What’s your worst or best run?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Training Ebbs and Flows

  1. Kara says:

    My runs seem to be similar lately! One will be amazing, the next will be horrible. I’ll feel totally in shape, and then super out of shape. It’s exhausting mentally, haha! AMAZING job on the 13.15 miles though! And I’m so glad you don’t feel bad about your second run…I always remind myself I shouldn’t feel bad if I have to throw in the towel either. Listening to your body is truly the key to improving and moving forward when it comes to running…in my opinion at least!!

  2. My last 20 miler before a marathon is always horrendous. I’m not sure why, but it seems like everything that can go wrong DOES go wrong… and just really random stuff. The bad runs are not fun but they always teach us something to make those good runs even better!

  3. Pingback: Breakfast Run Utrechtse Singelloop « Every Run's a Winner

Leave a Reply

