5 Days Training Hiatus in Heaven

As you know, my marathon training has taken halt due to a new lovely IT band issue. My mileage has been drastically cut back since my momentous  20 mile run almost a month ago now. I’m still trying to re-build my long runs though, so last Wednesday I decided to get my “long” run in before work since I was headed for vacation Thursday – Monday. I woke up bright and early and hit the road by 6:45am, before the sun has fully risen. My goal was 10 -12 miles and lets be honest, I was hoping for 12miles. However, I’ve learned that I need add a little bit of patience into my training, so when knee/leg pain hit around mile 7, my hopes of 12miles soon dwindled. I finished up 10miles, but I’m not going to say it was a pretty run. It was slow, I felt sluggish and the last mile or two I felt like I was partially limping — aka not good. When I got home I foam rolled the heck out of IT band/quad and stretched. The knee pain didn’t go away though. Heading out on vacation, I decided it was time to finally take a break…

Thursday AM at 5am my alarm clock went off — it was time to catch a cab and head to the airport, on my way to St. Maartens for a few days! I was thrilled. I’ve never shut up at 5am with so much enthusiasm before. Work has been hectic, my IT issues have been frustrating me beyond belief and I needed a break.

My next 5 days went something like this:

Sunshine…

I drank during the day, I drank at night…I enjoyed myself…

I ate whenever I was hungry and tried new foods like a mysterious shell fish in creole sauce…

…and snails in a pastry shell (DELICIOUS)…

I learned snails are tasty!

I watched pretty sunsets…

And just enjoyed life…

The most exercise I did was swimming a few laps in the ocean (seriously under 10min), a short hike to see some scenery and my PT hip exercises and foam rolling.

By day 3 I broke down. For my first time in years I was able to completely relax and enjoy myself, but that didn’t eliminate my anxiety about not running. After 3 days of doing nothing, but being nice to my body, my knee STILL hurt and my IT band was still extremely tight. I freaked out and finally voiced my fear — I turned to my boyfriend in frustration after a long foam rolling session and let it fly, “I’m afraid I won’t be able to run the Paris Marathon.” There, I got it out. My boyfriend, not being a runner or an athlete at all and constantly telling me that I overdo it, I expected him to tell me that “yeah, maybe you won’t.” His response was the total opposite, though. His response to my fear — “You’ll do it, don’t worry. I know you, your going to finish.” It was just what I needed. I was afraid to tell anyone my fear flat out and have them tell me it was valid. But what I got wasn’t validation in my fear, I got validation in myself. It was the support I needed and immediately my anxiety faded and my hope rose. You see, my boyfriend is not a runner so his response had no conviction of a trainer, or a doctor, but it had conviction of what I’m capable of and I needed to be reminded of that from someone who knew me well.

When I got back Monday night I was ready to start fresh to my training with a better mindset — my mileage may be cut back, I may feel like I’m starting from scratch, and I may be in pain, but I can do it! One of the first things I did when I got off the plane in NY was text my running buddy to beg her to run with me Tuesday morning. I needed to get back into it and I needed the support. Luckily, she was willing to join me :-)

Yesterday morning I woke up early, excited and a little nervous for my first run in 5 days. I wish I could say it was amazing, but it was not. We did an easy 4miles. My legs felt heavy, but I felt exhausted after only 4miles. However, I did not feel any knee pain.

I have to admit it is discouraging to be winded after 4miles, when not too long ago 10 miles felt easy. Running is a mind game, though, and this is a game I’m going to win. When I signed up for the Paris Marathon I decided to go big or go home…and I REALLY don’t like going home from vacation…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 5 Days Training Hiatus in Heaven

  1. marathon winer says:

    you needed that rest!!! glad youre running pain free, and dont worry, your body wont forget how to knock out 10 miles–or 15 or 20– that quickly!

  2. helen says:

    You are so brave trying snails!!

    Really pleased you had a good break, and ditto what marathon winer says, you won’t have lost any of your strong base level fitness or capacity for long distances, it just don’t work like that.

    Your boyfriend is such a hero, what a great guy you have there! :)

  3. Amy says:

    Oh my gosh, I didn’t realize you were running the Paris marathon! My best friend is running it with her mom. You’ll be great, I know it! Hope the IT band issue clears up soon :)

  4. Your vacation looks fabulous! Exactly how it should be – relaxed, stress-free, and no training anxiety.
    PS I’ve always wanted to try snails.

  5. Pingback: The Blame Game | sweatpassionandtears

Leave a Reply

